>Fears of Being in School Forever

>As much as I highly enjoy education and have often answered the question of “What would you do if you won the lottery?” with “I’d go to school forever!”, I have one fear that was just reinforced in our clinical rounds:

DYING

Yes you heard me correctly, dying is amongst the top two fears of human beings, right next to Public Speaking. Why the hell am I concerned with this?

A patient of the clinic’s son freshly graduated medical school at the age of 30 and was recently in a fatal car accident shortly after finishing his boards. My first thought when I think of my own accidental death is the money. The wasted money on my non-existent career or as Neal in Family Guy yelled when death was imminent, “I’ve wasted thousands of dollars on orthodontic work!” It is a valid fear, because I’m assuming my family would be the ones stuck with my debt. In fact, I think I am going to get insurance shortly to prevent this from happening should I actually die before the age of 30!

Then the wasted Fate: I am so absatively posolutely sure I am supposed to become an ND and change the world, though if I really believe in the path set out for me by the universe I would understand that death at that time is part of the plan. But STILL! I’m surprised I’ve made it alive out of certain circumstances and I credit that to my destiny to affect large scale healthcare changes. At least that’s what I choose to believe :)

My little known secret is that I am also terrified of getting into a car accident. I had nightmares about it before I turned 16 and was forced to get my license – perhaps I’ve passed in another life that way, who knows. Whenever I drive, I put positive energy out into the world and purposely don’t think bad thoughts because I don’t want to attract a car accident toward myself. For those who believe in the law of attraction that makes sense. For my hardcore science lovelies, I sound a little kooky, but let me leave you with this: how many people do you know that have been in more than one accident? I can’t even count on two hands how many motor vehicle accident patients I’ve worked with that have been in multiple, devastating collisions. Think it’s a fluke? Or do they push negative energy out into the universe that attracts more accidents to them?

Either way, I’ve got to spend the next four years (and then the 15 after while I pay off the debt) putting out good life-promoting vibes! Cross your fingers for me!

About Erica Robinson

I'm a Registered Holistic Nutritionist, Certified Kinesiologist, and in my second year of Naturopathic Medical School in Toronto, ON. My background is predominantly in kinesiology & health science with a focus on fitness assessment, neuroscience, physiology, medical anthropology, natural nutrition, and paleolithic/primal nutritional principles. I look at health, healing, and the world in a wholistic manner, keeping in mind the far-reaching consequences our actions have on our personal health, and the health of those around us and our environment. I invite you to take a cool, refreshing sip of this rare outlook on life! And perhaps I can show you why it is so much more critical that we all gravitate toward this way.
This entry was posted in Growing Up, Physiomed, Student Debt. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

