>Physiology 1 Final

>

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broca%27s_area

For those not thinking of ever attending medical school, I apologize for what will be one of my last entries on the exams at CCNM.  For those whom it will help, read on!

Physiology 1 Final Exam
It’s almost fair to say I studied far too much, if you include all of yesterday, and the AMP beverage from hell that kept me up til 3am.


The exam was surprisingly straight-forward with no trick questions.  Last time I could have said that for Dr. Cees Baas’ portion but not Dr. Gratton, however even his questions were fair this time.

Marking:

  • 55 Multiple Choice questions
  • 15 True/False Questions
  • 10 short answer questions at 3 marks each
  • Total: 100 marks

Material Covered:

  • The nervous system and brain
  • The muscular system
  • The cardiovascular system
  • The respiratory system
  • The renal system 
  • Special senses and testing (eyes, nose, ears)
  • The digestive system

So essentially, far too much material to cover in any reasonable sort of depth.  This stuff was spread over easily 5 undergraduate courses for me; forget about cramming it into one.  Those who had no prior physiology experience found it difficult and very challenging (for good reason, they are being made to do the impossible here) and as for next year, two physiology credits will be required for entry to the program.

Overall there were I guess 4 – 6 questions per system and it moved through all of them fairly chronologically in the multiple choice so it wasn’t all over the place.

Thankfully although I didn’t study the nervous system my previous neuroscience background saved me.  I’m just the idiot who forgot that Broca’s area (of expressive aphasia – inability to speak) is in the frontal and not the temporal lobe (that’s where Wernicke’s is – receptive aphasia, unable to understand what is being heard.)  Oh boy.  Only one mark lost but stupidity on my part.  Happens when you don’t sleep!

About Erica Robinson

I'm a Registered Holistic Nutritionist, Certified Kinesiologist, and in my second year of Naturopathic Medical School in Toronto, ON. My background is predominantly in kinesiology & health science with a focus on fitness assessment, neuroscience, physiology, medical anthropology, natural nutrition, and paleolithic/primal nutritional principles. I look at health, healing, and the world in a wholistic manner, keeping in mind the far-reaching consequences our actions have on our personal health, and the health of those around us and our environment. I invite you to take a cool, refreshing sip of this rare outlook on life! And perhaps I can show you why it is so much more critical that we all gravitate toward this way.
This entry was posted in Dr. Adam Gratton, Dr. Cees Baas, Exams, Physiology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

