Adventures in Juicing!

So coming off my Water Fast, I decided to do a lot of liquids including juicing and soups.  One of the first that I had was just pure OJ to get my glucose levels back up.  We don’t wanna do fruits too much because it can wreak havoc on our blood sugar levels.

 

Above is the first juice I made, the recipe given to me by my fabulous intern Future Dr. Maxim:
Personal Best V8

  • 6-8 tomatoes OR 4 cups tomato juice
  • 3-4 green onions with tops
  • 1/2 green pepper
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 stalks celery with leaves
  • 1/2 bunch spinach
  • 1/2 bunch parsley
  • 2 lemons, peeled
  • 1/2 tsp celery seed, ground

I’ve done this one fiber-and-all in the Vita Mix and it is good as both a smoothie and a juice, though I prefer the juice!  It’s very awesome.

Here’s the contraption: the juicer I borrowed from my aunt.  Here it is making the Elixir Green drink which I love:
2 large carrots
1 medium beet
1/2 cup cilantro
1/2 parsley
1/2 cup cherry tomatoes
2 stalks celery
1/2 lemon (peeled)
1/4 English cucumber
pinch of Himalayan salt
*make sure all the veggies are organic

It’s really amazing and tasty!

But it will separate, so you gotta shake it up!

 

Other juice recipes I loved – Carrot Cleanse Juice:

  • 4 carrots
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 2 celery stalks with leaves
  • 1 tbsp dried dulse

 

Also – Immune Booster:

  • 1/2 bunch parsley
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 6 carrots
  • 3 stalks celery with leaves
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 4 romaine leaves
  • 1 stalk broccoli
  • Dash cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp miso paste mixed with a little water (I didn’t use this)

Also amazing – the Crazy Sexy Life Make Juice Not War Greens drink:

It’s our motto and how we start each day: 

  • 2 large Cucumbers (peeled if not organic)
  • Big fist-full of Kale
  • Big fist-full of Romaine
  • 3 stalks of Celery
  • 1 Pear or Green Apple
  • 1-2 big Broccoli stems
  • 1/2 inch of Ginger

Experiment to taste! Other greens we love: any lettuce, spinach, parsley, dandelion.
Makes about 32 oz. Make more and save in Mason jars up to 24 hours.

Skin Cleanser:

  • 1 cucumber with skin
  • 1/2 bunch fresh parsley
  • 1 4oz tub alfalfa sprouts
  • 3-4 sprigs fresh mint

Acne Cleanser:

  • 2 slices pineapple with skin
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1/2 apple
  • 1/4 inch ginger root

@font-face { font-family: “Times”;}@font-face { font-family: “Cambria”;}p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0cm 0cm 10pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }p { margin: 0cm 0cm 10pt; font-size: 10pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }

Recipe for Clear Skin #3:

 

  • 3 large carrots
    1 celery stalk
    1 cup of of broccoli heads
    1 cup of spinach
    1/2 apple

Juices have a place in the process of healing.  I think the machines are expensive but if you have access to it, I definitely recommend the above recipes.  I was afraid a lot of wasting would occur, but this juicer left dry fibers behind and sucked out every last drop of juice – just gotta figure out which setting to use!

About Erica Robinson

I'm a Registered Holistic Nutritionist, Certified Kinesiologist, and in my second year of Naturopathic Medical School in Toronto, ON. My background is predominantly in kinesiology & health science with a focus on fitness assessment, neuroscience, physiology, medical anthropology, natural nutrition, and paleolithic/primal nutritional principles. I look at health, healing, and the world in a wholistic manner, keeping in mind the far-reaching consequences our actions have on our personal health, and the health of those around us and our environment. I invite you to take a cool, refreshing sip of this rare outlook on life! And perhaps I can show you why it is so much more critical that we all gravitate toward this way.
This entry was posted in Fasting, Food, Nutrition, RHN. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adventures in Juicing!

  1. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review | Whole Life Health Services

Leave a Reply

